Are you too highly sensitive?

Today I want to share a little bit about how it is to be an empath, or sensitive or whatever name that fits. Basically being me. For me it’s sometimes too much just to be around a lot of people. I’m learning how to live with myself the way I am, and trying to figure out new rules to go by. When I grew up I was told I could do anything I wanted. I soon figured out than even if I love Norway the speed there was to fast for me. Or rather my energy level told me that I had to recharge more often if I was going to keep up all my expectations. I ended up finding more balance and a slower speed in Portugal, and also realized that all my expectations was making me stressed.

I often know how people are feeling even if they don’t tell me, and it can be especially hard to come into a room where something’s not being said. I try not to take it all on my shoulders, but that’s the way I’ve always been. Taking the world on my shoulders. Silly really, since there’s enough to share. I get that, but my automatic response kicks in, I sense the things not being said, especially when it’s something negative, and that sucks my energy. The trick is trying to learn the things they never teach you in school!

This is what Judith Orloff says about this subject; “Empaths are highly sensitive, finely tuned instruments when it comes to emotions. They feel everything, sometimes to an extreme…” (Read more here: http://www.drjudithorloff.com/Free-Articles/emotional-empath-EF.htm)

I have a feeling it’s not just me. Maybe you know what I’m talking about. I’m now learning to take care of my self, and to check my energy level before I decide to go somewhere. I wish there was a cd or an update I could install in my brain or body, but apparently there are no apps for energy-refill? Maybe I need new batteries? My whole life I’ve heard I’m too sensitive, I’m too emotional, I’m too touchy and my favourite; I take everything too personal…. For those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about, please note that if you know someone who sounds like me, try to understand instead of calling them too sensitive, maybe they don’t know how not to be…

Who knows, maybe I can thank my overly sensitive emotions for my creativity?

Have a wonderful and balanced day, please drop a note if you feel like sharing anything, even if it’s too emotional;-) Here on my blog, everything is allowed!

In the mean time, I plan on flying away like my friend the Flying Elephant, to lighten my spirit:

