Chocolatemilk comes from the brown cows…

It’s so easy to just do what we’ve always done. Doing it differently could be potentially dangerous and your life would never be the same. I’ve heard and read so many times that cooking without wheat flour is difficult and doesn’t give an optimal result. Most people don’t even think about it. They just eat their daily bread and go to work. Some of us have an intolerance to wheat flour or even allergies. My stomach looks like I swallowed a football when I eat bread, cakes and anything with wheat. A little bit uncomfortable.

Ok, so what do I do? Maybe just do like my man did the other day; don’t plan, don’t read hundreds of recipes, don’t trust google on everything like I do. Just go with the flow and put corn flour and rice flour in a bowl and start mixing with egg and milk, and see what happens! The portuguese way. Put in a medium hot frying-pan and turn when ready. It actually turned out much to my surprise more or less like any other normal pancake. The way I like them, kind of skinny, so I can fill up with more. They don’t tell you that, do they? How easy it is… Not to eat them I mean, but to make them. Without wheat flour.

Regardless of Google and whatever you read, the pancakes look and taste like they should. I mean, it’s what you put on top that matters, right?
So fill up with maple syrup and enjoy! It’s interesting, because I hear there’s a wheat-crisis worldwide, lack of growth due to extreme weather. Maybe it’s about time to open our eyes and make use of the natural resources we have, like corn flour, rice flour and so on. I’m sure you wouldn’t believe me if I tell you that you can make rice-flour yourself. You need two things: Rice and a foodprosessor. Same with rolled oats (havregryn), it might take 60 seconds, but there you go, put oats or rice in a foodprosessor and press the button.

I think sometimes we forget that what we eat comes from somewhere before we buy it in the shop. I once heard a kid from the city say; Chocolatemilk comes from the brown cows.
Doesn’t that say it all?

