Great expectations!

I expect great things from myself. Too much most of the time. Let’s say that I decide that work I’m suppose to do should be done in 3 hours or so, but in reality would probably take 3 days. Which means I’m on a tight schedule, and never satisfied. I’ve started to realize that now, so I try to trick myself into thinking it take longer than it does so I actually finish. It’s not easy to trick a perfectionist, but I’m getting there. Thirty-eight years of life experience and all. The only thing is that sometimes I spend so much time figuring out how to trick myself and writing lists, that I forget to work. Oh well, you can’t have it all (at least not at the same time).

The only solution is either to find an assistant or do lobotomy, or just accept that I can’t do it all, and just do what I can. Great advice! Now, let’s see how long I remember this before I try to do it all again. Sometimes I wish I didn’t give a shit. But we all know a perfectionist gives a shit, even when she doesn’t want to.

